Author Topic: Best game for a gunfight  (Read 9243 times)

King CMOS

• Slayer of the Dread Gazebo
  • The wise and powerful King CMOS.
    • View Profile
Best game for a gunfight
« on: April 10, 2011, 06:26:55 AM »
I'm just getting back into RPG's after some time away, and I'm slowly working on writing a campaign to GM for the first time. I'm trying to make a modern crime/mercenary campaign, with the action level somewhere between Heat and Black Lagoon. Unfortunately, most RPG systems seem biased toward melee combat and magic. My current contenders are:
GURPS, which is big and clunky, but really understands what I'm interested in with its High Tech sourcebook. I also have no idea how to run combat or generate enemies for GURPS.
and Shadowrun, a game not really designed for the modern world, but could probably be adapted without too much trouble. I really enjoyed combat in SR3, but I've had no experience at all with it for SR4.

both are pretty decent, but don't feel optimal. D20 Modern has been ruled out already.
So, RPPR, I put the question to you, what do YOU think is best?

Setherick

• Administrator
  • Cosmic Horror: 1d10/1d100 SAN loss
  • Economies of Scale
    • View Profile
Re: Best game for a gunfight
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2011, 06:48:24 AM »
It depends on how much number crunching you want to run. If you want extra crunchy, I would stay with GURPS. If you want smooth and creamy, maybe BRP.
"Something smart so that I can impress people I don't know." - Some Author I've Not Read

Dom

• Oregon Trail 13 Superstar
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2011, 09:43:33 AM »
An alternative to GURPS which has less number-crunching could be Savage Worlds. Granted, the combat tends to be more pulp than realistic, so I'm not sure if Heat could be recreated. (Haven't watched Black Lagoon, so I can't comment on that.)

clockworkjoe

• BUY MY BOOK
  • Administrator
  • Extreme XP CEO
    • View Profile
    • BUY MY BOOK