Author Topic: Recruiting French to English translators and proofreaders for an RPG project  (Read 3912 times)

booga

• Slayer of the Dread Gazebo
    • View Profile
About me : I have been an avid RPG player/GM for the last 32 years, and for the last couple years, I have been a freelance translator (between French and English) and proofreader, working mostly for the RPG gaming industry.

The project : Black Book Éditions, A well-established French RPG publishing company is currently planning on translating some of their original French products into English. The books will belong to two separate game lines

   Pavillon Noir : a historical game in the age of piracy. It’s probably the most accurate game on the “pirates” theme, but it also can also include (at the GM’s discretion) elements of voodoo magic.

   Polaris : a science-fiction post-apocalyptical game, where mankind has found refuge under water. Thousands of years after our time, new powers have emerged (no pun intended, they do actually stay underwater) and a strange phenomenon called the Polaris Effect is changing life as we know it.

Considering the scope of these projects (two game lines, multiple 300+ pages books, high density content), I am putting together a team of translators and possibly proofreaders (translators may end up cross-proofreading their team members’ work). In addition to translating and proofreading, I will coordinate the project and act as a liaison with the editor. These projects are huge, involving quite a few books and would get a team of translators quite busy for more than a year. The team would probably work on Pavillon noir at first, then move on to Polaris.

The work done will be paid following the current standards for translation in the RPG industry (rated per word translated). You also get to hold a realized gorgeous product with your name in the credits (the French publishers leading this projects have very high quality standards) and can brag about it!