Author Topic: What they made you, A Character Thread  (Read 4123 times)

Tadanori Oyama

• Extreme XP CEO
  • The Full Time GM
    • View Profile
    • Full Time GM
What they made you, A Character Thread
« on: January 29, 2010, 07:41:48 PM »
I was just reflecting on some of the characters I've played since getting the new group I play with started. It's been about a year now and I've only gotten to play a few (I mostly GM). And it occurred to me that all of my characters quickly developed in new ways after I started playing them.

I also realized that most of the things I remembered about my character weren't created by me; they where things other players had tacked on with comments or jokes. Infact, nearly every character I remember was altered significantly because other players remembering running gags or stupid things that character had done and continued to bring them up.

So, I thought I'd see what everyone else had to share.

Share memorable qualities or traits your characters developed through other player's words rather than your own ideas.

My first example is the Racist Angel James Mason. I may have shared this before, I'm not sure.

I was playing D&D 4E for the first time as a player and not a GM. I was playing a Deva (the new Aasimar) Paladin and for his in-character voice I was doing an impression of James Mason. Our party got trapped in a hedge maze and after a little discussion I turned to the party Cleric, a minotaur, and asked "Can you get us through this?"

Everyone looked at me like what I said didn't make sense. The Cleric asked, "Why are you asking me?"

I replied, "Are you going to make me say it?"

He replied, "Say what?"

I, as a player, looked back at them stunned and replied, in character (using the impression): "Well... you are a minotaur. And this is a maze."

And so my character was instantly, and forever, labeled a racist.

Shallazar

• Oregon Trail 13 Superstar
  • I AM TOM!
    • View Profile
    • Never do Nothing